AIP Paleo Fried Oysters

As I’m learning more and more about the autoimmune protocol, it sounds like you’re supposed to have a good amount of seafood. Something that we’ve been slacking on just because I usually don’t buy seafood. I basically grew up on the coast, and everyone I knew always fished. We never, ever bought seafood because it was always around. So in the store I just feel weird buying it. Plus, the actual good stuff – wild caught – is always so dang expensive!

But, one thing I do buy in stores are oysters in the jar from Costco. They’re great fried, baked, or smoked. This last round of cooking oysters I really struggled to find an AIP-friendly fried oyster recipe.

Of course, I know that frying isn’t the healthiest option, but who cares! I was determined, and I’ve been on a mission using Otto’s Cassava flour ever since I found it in a store up in Portland.

IMG_3339.jpg

So, the AIP-friendly fried oyster was born. It’s gluten-free, egg-free, nut-free, and whatever else AIP falls into. I feel like the list is never ending!

But, the taste is there.

This is actually the second time I tried to fry oysters in an AIP friendly way. The first time, I used arrowroot starch because that’s all I had. And, let me tell you, even for oysters they were slimey and chewy. Not awful but I’ve learned to put up with a lot on this diet!

These however are not slimey. Just check out this picture. Look at that crust!!

IMG_3345.jpg

Golden. Crispy. Perfect. If I do say so myself…

Husband liked them too, and we tried a few different combinations before finally settling on the one below. Really, you could use all Cassava flour, but I like the mix mostly because you still get the golden deliciousness and coconut flour is WAY cheaper.

AIP-Friendly Paleo Fried Oysters

This egg-free, paleo, gluten-free/grain-free, oyster recipe is delicious! And, it’s the only thing I’ve found that replicates actual flour. Got to love Cassava flour as a gluten replacer.

IMG_3337.jpg

Recipe serves about 3-4 people. We had plenty of leftovers for lunches – though, they are best the first day.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup Otto’s Cassava Flour
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour (I used the stuff from Trader Joe’s)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried dill
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup oil for frying (I used avocado oil)

How-To:

  1. Prepare flour mix: mix all dried ingredients together until combined.
  2. Dredge oysters (should be covered in that lovely oyster slime) into the flour until covered. Should stick to the oysters fairly well. Usually, you would dip in egg before, but I’ve found this works just fine until all oysters have been covered.
  3. Heat oil in skillet on high or medium-high until hot.
  4. Carefully toss in floured oysters. Fry for about 2-3 minutes per side, until well browned but not burned. Watch careful! Gently flip oysters to second side. Second side will take about half the time.
  5. Once fried, let the oysters dry (is that the right word?) on a paper towel to soak up excess oil. Serve!

AIP Biscuits & -Gravy-.jpg

One thought on “AIP Paleo Fried Oysters

Leave a Reply

