Tofu Tacos

My roommate and I have developed a little tradition we like to call “Tofu Thursdays.” I guess it’s similar to the idea of “Meatless Mondays,” or since this blog is called College Craft, “Thirsty Thursdays.”

Anyway, my roommate said she wanted tacos. I’ve never made or heard of tofu tacos, but I figured I could give it a try. Tofu Taco Thursday begins…

INGREDIENTS:

  • Olive oil
  • Tofu
  • Taco Seasoning
  • Tortillas
  • Cheese
  • olives
  • garbanzo beans
  • salsa
  • guacamole
  • lettuce
  • green onions

For you meat eaters, treat the tofu as you would treat sliced chicken!

Cut tofu up into little bite size pieces. Sprinkle taco seasoning. Heat in oiled pan over medium low heat.

I made sure these tofu bits were extra well done.

You want to make sure that the tofu bits are well done because you don’t want any tofu mush in your taco! It takes probably about 20 to 25 minutes, depending on your stove top, to cook the tofu to this stage. As long as they are firm and not mushy, they’re done!

My tortilla brand of choice is La Tortilla Factory

This step is optional, but I like to heat my tortillas up in a little but of oil! It doesn’t take long, just pour a little bit of oil in the medium-low pan, heat the tortillas, and warm for about 1 or 2 minutes on each side. You don’t want to burn them or even crisp them too much!

Just like normal tacos! Yummm!

While all this is cooking, you should be chopping, grating, and arranging your taco toppings. Lettuce, green onions, cheese, olives, guacamole, and salsa are some of my favorites. My roommate really likes garbanzo beans on her tacos, and surprisingly they were pretty delicious!

Make sure to make lots because you'll be wanting more!

Soooo yummy!

Leave a Reply

