Butternut Squash Pasta

I’ve been absolutely terrible at posting lately. I’ve been so crafty, but I haven’t been posting to this at all. It’s terrible! I’ll try to catch up soon, but here’s a quick and delicious winter recipe for now.

I had plans to make a shrimp orzo tonight, but when I was reading the recipe it said it would take at least and hour and a half. No thank you! I was starving, and the butternut squash on the counter was on its last leg.  So, I searched my mother’s Market Vegetarian recipe book for some kind of butternut squash recipe. It’s an amazing book, by the way. I can’t wait to try more recipes!

Anyway, the recipe is a spin on butternut squash ravioli, except better. It’s easy, fast and delicious. Since I’m a pescetarian(and I already had the shrimp for the time-consuming orzo), I added some shrimp to the original recipe. It’s definitely not necessary though, so I’ll maintain this is a vegetarian dish. I think it took about 20 minutes from ingredients to deliciousness.

The final product

Servings:

I’d recommend doubling it if you’re feeding more than two!

Ingredients:

Pasta (I used a dried vegetable pasta, but anything would be great, and the amount depends on how much you want!)
1 half butternut squash
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 handful of parsley, chopped
8-10 sage leaves
1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese (or something like it)
(I added about two handfuls of shrimp)

Steps:

Boil the water for the pasta. Halve the butternut squash, seed and peel. Cut the squash into thin slices. They should all be about the same thickness so they cook evenly. Heat olive oil on high or medium high. Once you start cooking the pasta, add the squash to the heated pan. The squash cook for about six minutes by themselves. Turn the squash frequently and carefully because it’s on high heat, and they will burn if left too long! Chop the garlic and parsley while the squash is going. After about six or seven minutes, add the garlic, parsley and sage. Continue cooking the squash and spices for three to four minutes, then turn the pan to low or no heat. This should be about when the pasta is done. When the pasta is done, drain it and add it to the warm squash pan. Add 1/4 cup of the cheese. Stir and let the flavors mingle for a few minutes. As recommended, I let the flavors develop while I cooked the shrimp (about five minutes). Then, I dished it up and topped with the rest of the cheese.

It was sooo good! I'll definitely be doing this again for a quick weeknight meal.

2 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Pasta

Leave a Reply

